In most instances, the State of California will require that a tow truck driver possess a valid Class “A” or Class “B” Commercial Driver License (CDL). Additionally, the California Vehicle Code mandates that all tow truck drivers possess a valid Tow Truck Driver Certificate.
How do I become a tow truck driver in California?
Pass the pre-trip inspection, which tests your knowledge of the vehicle and its operation, and the driving test to complete the licensing process. You have three chances to pass both. Once you pass all required tests, you will be issued a Class B driver’s license, which allows you to operate a tow truck legally.
How old do you have to be to drive a tow truck in California?
1. Age and Education. You must be at least 18 years or older to operate a tow truck. However, many companies require several years of experience, making the typical ages to begin driving between 21 and 25.
How much can I tow with a Class C license in California?
Class C licensees may not tow more than 1 vehicle. A passenger vehicle, regardless of weight, may not tow more than 1 vehicle. A motor vehicle under 4,000 lbs. unladen weight may not tow any vehicle weighing 6,000 lbs. or more gross (CVC §21715(b)).
How much can you tow in California without a CDL?
you can drive a vehicle rated at 26,000 lbs and not need a CDL(think u haul type box truck) and with that you can tow a trailer that weighs 9,999 lbs or less(like a smaill u haul trailer). in other words,if your trailer is rated at greater than 10,000 lbs,then you are limited to a 26,000 lb GCVWR.
Do tow truck drivers make good money?
Tow truck drivers in the United States make an average salary of $35,425 per year or $17.03 per hour. People on the lower end of that spectrum, the bottom 10% to be exact, make roughly $29,000 a year, while the top 10% makes $43,000. As most things go, location can be critical.
What license do you need for recovery truck?
This means that, realistically, the majority of recovery trucks available will be too heavy to be driven on a category B licence, and would require a category C1 or C licence.
What size trailer can I tow without a Licence?
Drive a vehicle up to 3.5 tonnes or 3,500kg MAM towing a trailer of up to 750kg MAM. Tow a trailer over 750kg MAM as long as the combined weight of the trailer and towing vehicle is no more than 3,500kg.
Can you double tow in California?
California is one of the states that allows towing of two trailers behind a single tow vehicle, called a triple tow because three vehicles are involved. … Some do not allow triple towing, and others have regulations different from those of California.
How do you get a tow truck experience?
Earn the commercial driver’s license (CDL) by completing the written and practical CDL exam in your state. Maintain a good driving record to demonstrate that you can consistently follow driving and parking laws. Earn on-the-job experience by seeking employment with a reputable tow truck company.
Do all trailers need to be registered in California?
In California, all utility trailers must be registered with the Permanent Trailer Identification (PTI) program, which is operated by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This is to ensure that all utility trailers used in the state are properly insured, titled and safe for use.
How much can you tow in California?
21715 No passenger vehicle regardless of weight, or any commercial vehicle less than 4000 lbs shall tow more than one vehicle in combination except for a car on a tow dolly. 21715-a. No motor vehicle under 4000 lbs shall tow any vehicle 6000 lbs or more.
What are the towing laws in California?
In the state of California, it is legal for a private property owner to have a vehicle towed on his or her property without asking for permission from the state or police. This means that your vehicle parked on someone else’s property can be towed at any point in time and without any warning.